A gluten-free diet is in trend and almost everyone is interested in trying it once! While some people are just trying it because it’s popular, however a word of caution for those who are suffering from celiac disease as they just can’t tolerate gluten and it can be dangerous for them!
What is gluten?
Gluten is a mixture of two proteins which are found in rye, wheat, barley and all related hybrids and species, as well as products that are derived from these grains.
Adding oats to your diet
Oats are one of the healthiest grains on this planet. They are rich in various types of essential vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and fibres. You can add oats in your diet by eating it as breakfast every day, just boil it with milk or water and have it! You can also have them in bars, cookies and muffins. Along with the good taste, oats are also very beneficial for health, from aiding in weight loss to improving the heart health, oats do everything! So, whether you’re suffering from celiac disease or are trying to avoid gluten, you must be wondering if oats are gluten-free or not? Read on to find out!
Do oats have gluten in them?
Oats don’t belong to any of the gluten grain groups. Yes, oats are gluten-free! However, people with gluten intolerance may still need to be careful about eating oats as they can easily be contaminated with gluten as mostly they are grown near wheat and other gluten grains. Oats are naturally gluten-free but, cross-contamination with gluten is common phenomenon. So, the best way to make sure if the oats that you are buying has gluten in it or not, just check the labels!
Oats is an Asiatic-origin grain which is cultivated in India majorly in states of Punjab, Haryana, UP, areas in MP, Odisha, Bengal, and Bihar. These superb grains are used as a cattle feed and also as a human food in the form of good quality grain, oatmeal, and cookies in India.
Indian players as Saffola, Sunfeast, Parle, Britannia and Patanjali are using these healthy gluten-free grains in various products as Masala oats, oats cookies and biscuits, oats puttupodi (traditional South Indian dish), Maggi-oats and many more. Many of these items are exported majorly to countries like Bangladesh, USA, Maldives, SriLanka, Cote D Ivoire, Saudi Arabia, New Zealand and UAE.
India is the leading producer of lemon, a fr
The Chestnut, which was originated 3,000 yea
When it comes to Kochi, many of us might jus
Many people think of pumpkins as little more than
One of the specialties offered in Lucknow du
The ‘non-veg’ in veg variations of mock
Indians are die-hard rice lovers and nobody
India offers so much on its culinary platter but t
Blessed with tropical climatic conditions, India g
A gluten-free diet is in trend and almost ev
If you thought that all the action in busine
Purani Haveli's known to be the place or ori
Shaped like a conch, the butterfly pea flowe
A well-rounded diet includes plenty of veget
The ubiquitous mania for healthy making and
Did you know that, 4,000 years ago, the Hara
Chestnuts which were originated 3000 years b
From the by lanes of Kolkata and the temples
Since the advent of life on earth, “Salt"
The advent of Hamburger to the world’s pal
Multiple research have found in t
A fruit believed to have originated in India
"Spices" or "Masalas" have been an innate part of
Famous as the beverage crop even before
Samosa is one of the most famous snacks in I
A good source of protein, a powerful store o
The alluring smell of those kababs, the head
One of the oldest and most effective advice of all
The much talked of, Vegan diets, are know
Now-a-days, every one of us are up with a constant
Plant-based meat alternatives that look and taste
Every one of us must have, positively, read and le
Celiac disease, sometimes called celiac sprue or g